Renwick produced a fine all-round performance to defeat Wairau by 7 wickets in last Saturday’s SBS Bank 40 over final at Horton Park. Having won the toss and electing to bat on a pitch that looked good for batting Wairau’s batsmen struggled against some accurate bowling led by opener Jacob Zillwood (3-25) well supported by Keiran Gaudin (2-27), Andrew Nation (3-17) and the rest of the bowling attack. Wairau did at least bat their 40 overs but only Flynn Hawtin (24) passed 20 and their total of 136 looked below par. Which proved to be the case as Renwick reached their target in the 27th over, veteran Andrew Marshall top scoring with 44 and sharing a stand of 60 for the 2nd wicket with Mark Zillwood (25) before adding another 59 with Kirk Nicholas who remained unbeaten on 39 from 34 balls at the end. Having won the T20 title earlier in the year and the South Island Masters title back in October it completed a dominant 2nd grade season for Renwick who also added the AW Robinson challenge cup in the process to their season trophy haul. This despite another year of closely contested games at this grade with teams on the whole evenly matched.

Renwick’s clean sweep in 2nd grade was matched by Celtic in Senior grade which is unusual in recent years where trophies have generally been shared between a number of clubs. Wairau Valley’s Matthew Stretch was the leading run scorer and wicket taker in Senior grade with 618 runs and 24 wickets. Tarin Mason with 438 runs and Jaden Adams with 22 wkts were runners up. Kirk Nicholas led the 2nd grade batting with 516 runs ahead of Fraser MacIntosh (436) while Liam Young (36) was the leading wicket taker ahead of Ed Gilhooly (32). Luke Holdaway (614) and Sam Young (582) were 3rd grade’s leading run scorers with Ben Armstrong (22) and Ollie Kennedy (21) the leading bowlers.

There were more outstanding performances to wrap the season up in WK 4th grade including Jasper Sorenson-Brown (29), George Wilson (31), Charlie Robinson (35), Blake Pitts (27), Thomas Heagney (3-14), Spencer Gregg (45), Liam Cohen (40), Harry MacNeill (31), Jemima Nation (2-23), Tessa Zillwood (28), Charlie Booker (28), Rupert Renwich Hammond (28), Amiri Doonan (25), Teagan Birkett (47), Reon Holdaway (22), James Litchfield (3-4), Dom Alexander (3-13), Gus Wickham (3-15), Hamish Newman (4-4), Max Ruffell (3-3), Josh Harris (25) and Alexander Neal (2-14). Many thanks to all the 4th grade coaches and managers who have helped to make this a great competition this summer.

Our 2021-22 junior awards evening is now set for Wednesday 6th April at Horton Park from 5.30pm to 6.30pm. This will be followed by the Senior awards from 7pm. Contact for more information. We hope to see you there to celebrate another fantastic summer of cricket.