The PaknSave Marlborough Women’s side just missed out on claiming the Hiwa-i-te-rangi trophy on Sunday in a thrilling finish. Nelson captain and star batter Kate Gaging looked to be taking her team to victory until she was dismissed for 85 by Courtney Bowen leaving her team 8 wickets down and still 12 runs required. With 6 still needed from the final 6 balls Abigail Morris hit a 2 and a 4 to get her team home with 3 balls to spare. Bowen finished with 2-29 from her 8 overs while Eden Pettigrew (2-26), Stella Cornelius (2-26) and Eva Davey (2-27) all bowled well. Earlier Davey made 32 from 33 balls before having to retire while Carley Englefield (28), Megan Standford (32), Pania Dallarosa (23) and Vicky Underwood (21) helped Marlborough through to a competitive total of 177.

The Marlborough Men’s team fell to a 7 wicket loss in their Newman Shield challenge in Nelson. Corey Bovey (46), Andrew McCaa (67) and Matthew Stretch (66) helped Marlborough though to 244 for 6 batting first which proved no great challenge for the Nelson batters as they got home with nearly 7 overs to spare.

Renwick will play Wairau in this Saturday’s SBS Bank Div1 final following wins for both teams in the final round of games last Saturday. Ben Holdaway (49) and Tom Sutherland (57) helped Falcons through to 215 against Renwick before Rikki Bovey (48) and Luke Frankland (89no) saw their team home 7 wickets down. Harry Campbell (33), Matthew Stretch (36) and Jordan Alford (33) helped Wairau Valley to 146 against Wairau, Baxter Croad taking 3-35.

The Division 2 final will be between Celtic and Wairau, both teams winning last Saturday to confirm their spots. Josh Harris (50) and Nathan Ward (3-13) were star performers for Wairau while Neve Edwards took 2-18 for Renwick. For Celtic Fergus Dodson took 3-10 and Ollie Kennedy smashed 93 from 52 balls, Spencer Gregg escaping the carnage to take 3-16 for Valley.

Standout performers in the latest round of WK 4th Grade included; Quinn Cunniffe (4-20), Eddie Russell (47), Carter Eden (41), Harry McKendry (2-21), Joseph Gilhooly (33), Finn Ashworth (35), Harry MacNeill (50 & 4-7), Lewis Stocks (2-40), Julian Englefield (29), Daniel Baker (3-19), Max Nailer (3-12), Thomas Heagney (32), Ryan Batty (32), Sam Webb (33), Pippa Yuen (3-30), Filippa Palm (21), Cerys Lawson (21), Fionn Heagney (3-11).

Junior Prizegiving will take place this Saturday at Horton Park from 12.30pm following the final round of WK 4th grade morning games. Senior prizegiving is also this Saturday following the afternoon SBS Bank Div1 and 2 finals starting around 6pm.

Then on Sunday we have our end of season Churchill Private Hospital Women’s Social Cricket Festival day. To enter email or come along from 10am to watch some great action.