A busy season of representative cricket concludes this weekend with both the Men’s and Women’s sides in action on Sunday. The PaknSave Women’s side play their final game of the season at Horton Park as they take on Nelson at Horton Park for the Hiwa-i-te-rangi trophy. Meanwhile the Men’s team travel over the hill to take on Nelson at Saxton Oval for the Newman Shield. Games start at 11am with both teams hoping to finish their season on a high with a win.

In the latest round of the SBS Bank 40 over Div1 competition Renwick earned a narrow win with 2 balls to spare to end Wairau Valley’s hopes of making the final. Sam Boyce top scored with an unbeaten 89 in Valley’s competitive total of 208, well supported by Eddie Swan (38) and Richard Petrie (25). Mike Anstis, Fred Sululoto and Rikki Bovey each took 2 wickets. Opening bat Andrew Marshall then made 64, Rikki Bovey 79 and Luke Frankland 24 before some tight bowling from Sam Boyce (2-25) saw Renwick lose 4 quick wickets leading to a nail biting finish. Petrie completed a final all round match with 3-44. Wairau confirmed their place in the 9th March final with a routine 9 wicket win over Falcons. Luke Holdaway (46) and Yadi Hundal (36) were the only players to pass double figures in Falcons disappointing total of 126, Hunter Ruffell taking 4-15 and Griffin Carter 3-43. Ruffell then made an unbeaten 59 supported by Andrew McCaa with 38no to confirm their final place with a round to spare.

In Div2 games Dane Winstanley took 4-9 and scored 32 in Renwick’s quick win over Wairau Valley, the whole match lasting less than 40 overs. Celtic were made to work harder for their crucial 28 run win over Wairau. Darryn Stewart (65no) and Stella Cornelius (34no) combined in a century partnership to get Celtic through to 209 for 5 (Nathan Ward 2-18) before John Diamanti (3-41) and Ryan Clark (2-12) ensured Wairau fell short despite 41 from Teagan Birkett.

Standout performers in the latest round of WK 4th Grade included; Daniel Baker (37), Finn Ashworth (33), Kyle Buckley (55), Tamati de Wildt (29), Joseph Gilhooly (3-23), Harry Nailer (2-9), Filippa Palm (24no), Quinn Cunliffe (4-11), Mason Birtles (2-7), Thomas Dunne (37), Amiri Doonan (41), Carter Eden (29).

A reminder that entries are still open for our Churchill Private Hospital Women’s Social Cricket Festival day on Sunday 10th March. If you have never played cricket before this is your chance to give it a try. Enter a team or just yourself and we will find you a team. No gear or experience required. Just email eden@marlboroughcricket.co.nz to register or for more information.